in memory of one who died too soon

flowers cut and brought inside
black cars in a single line
your family in suits and ties
and you’re free

the ache I feel inside
is where the life has left your eyes
I’m alone for our last goodbye
but you’re free

I remember you like yesterday, yesterday
I still can’t believe you’re gone, oh…
I remember you like yesterday, yesterday
and until I’m with you, I’ll carry on

adrift on your ocean floor
I feel weightless, numb, and sore
a part of you in me is torn
and you’re free

I woke from a dream last night
I dreamt that you were by my side
reminding me I still had life
in me

I’ll carry on

every lament is a love song
yesterday, yesterday
I still can’t believe you’re gone
so long my friend, so long

-“Yesterday” by Switchfoot

in the next two days, i will be going to the visitation and funeral of a girl i went to high school with. she died a few days before her 23d birthday, in an accident. she left behind an 11 month old son and a lot of hurting hearts.

but she’s free.

rest in peace, Natalie.

One thought on “in memory of one who died too soon

comment