Bible in 90 days – Finished!

Back in July, I started reading the Bible in 90 Days. I finished in 84 days. During those days, I also read the extra parts of Daniel and Esther, Baruch, and I took about four days and read Sirach as well. I actually got behind fairly quickly, so I was very glad I was able to catch up and even finish early.

I’m very glad I participated this challenge. It means that I finally managed what I tried to do at least 4 times as a child – read the Protestant Bible cover to cover! It’s a very different experience from the skipping around which made it possible for me to read the Bible through the first two times. Naturally, some parts of the B90Days challenge are harder than others. I found Psalms hard to read through at such a fast pace – I wanted to stop and linger over it. The New Testament epistles are easy to read quickly. Doing so provides the background to properly understand the sections and verses we study closely at other times.

I am surprised how reading that much of the Bible became a habit for me. Now my Bible reading is something I nearly always get to, without thinking about it. I find it helpful to try and read my Bible as soon as I can during the day. For me, that’s during/after breakfast.

If you want to read the Bible, I think reading it at a quicker pace than the stereotypical year can be a wonderful thing. Doing it in 90 days is hard, but oh so rewarding. I hope to do it again someday.

Now I’m not really sure what to read in the Bible next! I’m starting the Bible over again with a friend, and we will be reading through the narrative books. For myself, I’m starting to skip around the Bible again, book by book. I’m not sure if I’ll keep doing that or if I’ll go with a more structured approach. I also purchased a small copy of the Message today for $7 and will probably work that into my devotional reading somehow.

I’ve also switched main Bible translations. The NABRE notes were distracting me from the Bible in a negative way, so now, thanks to the aforementioned friend, I have an NRSV! I’m especially pleased with the edition I have; it is single column in the prose books and double column in the poetry books. I’m looking forward to making this Bible my own.

3 thoughts on “Bible in 90 days – Finished!

  1. Congratulations on finishing the Bible! I also read the parts of the Bible not included in the B90D time table. I did it all in 93 days, which is respectable. I like the NABRE, but I can understand the notes being distracted. I’ve never tried another version, so maybe I’ll check out a NRSV and see what that’s like. Thanks!

comment

