Scents

It’s funny how scents can take me right back to past times, and it’s funny which scents remind me of those times.

In my first year of public school (which was 10th grade), I carried around Purell hand sanitizer and used it frequently. Now, whenever I use Purell, I get echoes of feelings of 10th grade.

Today, I washed my hands using black raspberry and vanilla hand soap at someone else’s house. Driving home, I tried to place it – the sense of expectation and order. I figured out that’s the hand soap we had right around the time I had my daughter. Before her birth, I spent time sitting and reading and studying…and I was very expectant. Odd how the echoes of those feelings come back to me.

comment

