52 books in 52 weeks: 2012

Back in January, members of a forum I occasionally frequent began once again something called 52 Books in 52 Weeks. It’s exactly what it sounds like – you try to read a book per week for the entire year. I thought about posting about it at the time, but decided I’d better not – I didn’t want to post and then not do it.

Well, I did it (and then some). That’s one goal which WAS accomplished this year. It’s a small thing, and comparatively easy (I love to read!), but still. It’s an accomplishment.

Here are the 52 books, in order of completion. These were all finished in 2012, but not at a rate of one a week! Rather, I’d go weeks without finishing one and then finish four in a week, things like that. In reviewing this list, I’ve noticed that I read a fair amount of Christian non-fiction and teen fiction.

  1. The Celebration of Discipline, Richard Foster
  2. The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, Stephen Covey
  3. The Me I Want To Be, John Ortberg
  4. Reading The Bible Again For The First Time, Marcus J. Borg
  5. The Help, Kathryn Stockett
  6. The Demon-Haunted World, Carl Sagan
  7. The Bible Jesus Read, Philip Yancey
  8. The Happiness Project, Gretchen Rubin
  9. When She Woke, Hillary Jordan
  10. A Praying Life, Paul E. iller
  11. Thinking Straight In A Crooked World, Gary DeMar
  12. Lit! Tony Reinke
  13. The Believing Brain, Michael Shermer
  14. Time Of My Life, Allison Winn Scotch
  15. Misquoting Truth, Timothy Paul Jones
  16. The House At Riverton, Kate Morton
  17. In Our Control, Laura Eldridge
  18. One Day, David Nicholls
  19. Austenland, Shannon Hale
  20. If God Is Good, Randy Alcorn
  21. Matched, Allie Condie
  22. Crossed, Allie Condie
  23. Making It All Work, David Allen
  24. One Thousand Gifts, Ann Voskamp
  25. Love, Loneliness, Abuse, and Murder, Jim B. Pulley
  26. Spousonomics, Paula Szuchman and Jenny Anderson
  27. Uninsured in America, Susan Starr Sered and Rushika Fernandopulle
  28. Radical, David Platt
  29. A Feast For Crows, George R. R. Martin
  30. Free For All, Don Borchert
  31. The Way In, Rita D. Jacobs
  32. The Reading Group, Elizabeth Noble
  33. Insurgent, Veronica Roth
  34. Not A Fan, Kyle Idleman
  35. Sink Reflections, Marla Cilley
  36. The Irresistable Revolution, Shane Claiborne
  37. The Purpose-Driven Life, Rick Warren
  38. Confessions of a Prayer Slacker, Diane Moody
  39. Redeeming Love, Francine Rivers
  40. Gossip Girl, Cecily von Ziegesar
  41. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs
  42. Love Wins, Rob Bell
  43. The Pledge, Kimberly Derting
  44. Article 5, Kristen Simmons
  45. Birthmarked, Caragh M. O’Brien
  46. Erasing Hell, Francis Chan and Preston Sprinkle
  47. The Selection, Kiera Cass
  48. Bloodhound, Tamora Pierce
  49. Mastiff, Tamora Pierce
  50. Prized, Caragh M. O’Brien
  51. Promised, Caragh M. O’Brien
  52. A Year of Biblical Womanhood, Rachel Held Evans
  53. Reached, Allie Condie
  54. Ruby Red, Kerstin Gier
  55. Letters From A Skeptic, Dr. Gregory Boyd and Edward Boyd

 

5 thoughts on “52 books in 52 weeks: 2012

  1. Very cool. I read a lot, too, and have read several of those. Maybe I’ll try 52 in 52 myself this year. I’m like you – I read in spurts. I won’t read for a while and then I’ll read tons! Do you read paper books or use a Kindle or some other e-reader? I mostly read from my Kindle these days. There’s a site called Bookwise that has tons of free books listed. I get a lot there.

    • I actually read mostly paper books. I work at a library, and quite a few of these books came from there! I do own a Kindle but the books at the library are very distracting… :)

    • Just put in my two cents: many libraries now offer ebooks to borrow, free to you. You might need to download additional software or an app, depending on your device and library. But if you prefer ebooks, I’d holy recommend asking your friendly local librarian. ;-)

comment

